Monsoon pilgrimage through nature

Whooshing wind in the hair, whistle of the train, rain drops that are forced inside the window, serene and mystic nature, mist, green trees, cold pristine flowing water, beautiful pink flower that couldn’t be pluck. So many beautiful memories to take back home from this monsoon trip, yet my heart yearns to do it all over again.

Independence day holiday, if comes in the middle of the week, can lead to a trip. We being the opportunists, grabbed the opportunity of taking two days leave from office and getting whole of 5 days vacation out of it. Aren’t we simply smart? Turns out many other smarties also thought of the same, as we later found out.

We made hay of the holiday on August 15 and planned two trips. One with friends and one with family.

Bangalore – Kukke – Hassan

Who: Me, S and three friends

When: 15-16 Aug

Mode of transport: train, jeep, KSRTC bus

I wanted to experience the famous Mangalore train route (which is actually Karwar train which goes through Mangalore) since quite sometime and when I suggested the same to S, he readily agreed. Tickets booked and we were ready for it. Our spirits were doused by the cancelling of the same train on the previous week. So we started looking out for alternatives. Elated to find out that our train wasn’t cancelled, we started packing bags on Tuesday evening.

Started for Yeshwantpur railway station at 5:30am on 15th August. It was very nice and refreshing. I once again made a pact with myself to wake up early and go for walk on daily basis, which until now remains un-done. BMTC bus was relatively empty and we reached Majestic in 45 minutes. A friend joined us and from there we boarded a bus to yeshwantpur railway station.

Reached the station at 7:00am and waited for two more to join us and boarded the train at 7:20. Our reserved seats were near the toilet so we sat down on the un-reserved seats. Thankfully there was not much crowd.

At 7:30 am the train started and we started getting chatty and soon we were all hungry. I had packed ragi-rotti, idlis, palya and kempu(red)-chutney for all of us from home. The joy of eating while traveling is something only travelers can understand. I don’t know if it is the dust, sights and smells that affects our perception but everything tasted supreme that day, even if I say so myself.

A railway station on the way

Arasikere railway station

However much I want to say that the engine chugged, I can’t. Because it didn’t. It made sounds like dum dum – tak tak. Diesel engine you see, not the good old steam engine which would invariably chug. Sitting there watching the trees and buildings go by made me nostalgic. So many train journeys that I’ve undertaken in my life and there are only a few which I resent and that is mostly due to crowd. Given a choice of travelling comfortably in train and bus I’d pick a less crowded comfortable train any day. There is a strange almost losing-oneself kind of feeling in letting the wind shuffle your hair every way. Only I’d  have to ignore the fact that I’d look like Cruella from 101 Dalmatians minus the black and white partition of course.

It was an uneventful and quite the routine journey until Hassan. We grabbed idlis and vadas at the Arasikere station for our afternoon meal.Terrain started changing after the train left Hassan. Tall coconut trees slowly started getting replaced first by coffee bushes and then by thick growth of forest trees. It was a lovely transformation, the one which we made this journey for.

Board at Sakleshpur station

The train reached Sakleshpur at around 2pm from where the journey became real slow. I could run beside the train if I wanted to. I guess it is only the steep valleys and dangerous looking rock faces that stopped other young people from doing the same. I can’t describe the scenic beauty that only gets enhanced with passing time.

Crazy people hanging out of the train

The scenes for which we boarded the train

This route has around 40-45 tunnels, journeying through which would’ve been amazing had there not been loud hooting and screaming by the aforementioned young people who filled the train. Everybody wanted their share of seat at the door. Everybody flocked the the side of windows where the scene was the best. I for once, traveled someplace inside my mind and was quiet as is my nature when I am with nature and went straight into contemplative mood. While people were busy photographing trough the windows, I was thinking of things that I wouldn’t have on a normal day.

Reaching Kukke Station made me let out a sigh of relief of being relieved from those screamers. I can’t be so lucky so easily; could I? Most of the people got down at the same station and below scene played out.

Crowd at Kukke Subramanya station

To be continued…

6 thoughts on “Monsoon pilgrimage through nature

  1. Pingback: Monsoon trip continued – Part II | My Treks & Travels

Have something to say?

